Enabling Submission Editing

Have more questions? Submit a request

This article explains how to enable submission editing for specific users to Edit, View, and/or Delete completed submissions.

Admins and Designers are the only user roles that can grant other users the ability to Edit, View, and/or Delete submissions from their mobile device, Web Client, or web portal.


Submission editing

Submission editing can be accomplished from several different places, depending on your preference and Account View. But before anyone can Edit, View, and/or Delete submissions, the permission must be granted by Admins or Designers from the Form Settings page.

Edit & View

To enable Edit & View settings, follow the steps below, regardless of your Account View:

  1. In the left navigation, click Forms.
  2. Click the hyperlink of the form name or the gear associated with the form to open Form Settings.
  3. Under Settings, locate Edit & View and click Settings.

    Form Settings_Edit & View.png
  4. Select the checkbox next to the User Roles that need permission to Delete, Edit, and/or View a completed submission.

    Form Settings_Edit & View page.png
    • Web Use:
      • Allowed to edit: Submissions can be edited in the web portal or dynamically with the Web Client by Admins, Designers, Dispatchers, Reporters, the User that submitted it, or any combination thereof.

        Please Note

        Editing submission data in the web portal or with the Web Client will not respect Workflow Handoffs. Anyone granted Web Use permission to edit will see the entire submission.

      • Allowed to delete: Submissions can be deleted on the web portal by Admins, Designers, Dispatchers, Reporters, the User that submitted it, or any combination thereof.
    • Mobile and Web Client Use:
      • Allowed to edit: Allow submitters to pull submissions back down to the device for editing.
      • Allowed to view PDF: Allow submitters to view the PDF containing their data.
    • Submission Date:
      • When edited on web: Reset the date on a submission that is edited via the web portal.
      • When edited on mobile: Reset the date on a submission that is edited on a mobile device.
  5. Click Save.

Based on your unique selections, all previous and future submissions for this form are available to users to Delete, Edit, and/or View as needed. Users will also need to Sync their devices for these changes to take effect.

Note

If Departments are enabled in your account, making a form editable on web is a step in the process to move a submission from one Department to another.

Next steps

After enabling Edit & View settings, those with permission can edit submissions in a number of place, depending on their Account View:

Did we answer your question?

We'd really appreciate your feedback! Please leave your suggestions for improvement in the comments or let us know what you're looking for so we can assist you better. We want to help, but we need to understand your needs!

Articles in this section

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Share

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.