This article explains how to enable submission editing for specific users to Edit and/or View completed submissions from the Submissions page in the web portal.
Admins and Designers can determine which User Roles have permission to modify completed submissions from the web portal on a form-by-form basis.
Submission Editing
Edit & View
The permission to edit a submission must be granted on a form-by-form basis from Form Settings > Edit & View. To learn more, see "Enabling Submission Editing."
Note
If Departments are enabled in your account, making a form editable on web is a step in the process to move a submission from one Department to another.
Web edit
The User Roles that have permission can follow the steps below, regardless of Account View, to edit submissions from the Submissions page:
- In the left navigation, click Submissions.
- Click the hyperlink of the form Name to see the individual submissions for that form or click the Folder name to see all forms within the Folder.
-
Click the hyperlink of the date and time for a specific submission under Submission Date to view its Submission Details.
- You will now see an Edit icon to the right of every editable field. Click the icon for the field value you wish to edit.
-
Click the green checkmark to save your changes. Click the red X to cancel an edit.
After completing your edits, click View PDF to see the updated PDF. On the right side of the page, click Revisions to see a log of Submission Revisions.
Edit in Web Client
The User Roles that have permission can follow the steps below, regardless of Account View, to Edit in Web Client from the Submissions page.
- In the left navigation, click Submissions.
- Click the hyperlink of the form Name to see the individual submissions for that form or click the Folder name to see all forms within the Folder.
-
On the right side of the page under Quick Links, click the pencil inline with the submission you wish to edit.
Or, click the hyperlink of the date and time for a specific submission under Submission Date to view its Submission Details and on the right side of the page, click the pencil .
- The Web Client will launch and you will be able to edit anything in the submission as needed.
After completing your edits, return to the Submission Detail page and click View PDF to see the updated PDF. On the right side of the page, click Revisions to see a log of Submission Revisions.
A few things to keep in mind
Web Client editing
- Editing is gated by existing Allowed to edit permission in the Web Use section of Edit & View but the user editing will go through the entire submission.
- Edit in Web Client never re-triggers a Workflow Handoff.
- Dynamic updates to:
- Calculations
- Conditions
- Values delivered to Integrations and Exports
- Add or edit repeating screen types (i.e. Lists, Loops, and Tables)
- Removing photos, adding photos (if the limit hasn't been reached), and exchanging photos on Multi-Photo fields is possible
Web Portal editing
- Calculations and Summaries are not recalculated.
- You cannot add new items to a List, Loop Screen, or Table.
- Removing photos, adding photos (if the limit hasn't been reached), and exchanging photos on Multi-Photo fields is not possible.
- Fields are not validated for correct input (i.e. values will not reference a Field Mask when editing).
- Signatures, Drawings, Static Text (entered from either Builder), and GPS coordinates cannot be modified.
- Fields that were marked as PDF visible "if value is not blank" cannot be updated in a web edit if they were blank in the mobile submission. You are able to edit those fields on mobile.
- For conditional fields whose Condition is not met during the original mobile submission, web editing is possible, however the edit will not display on the PDF. However, the changes will display on the PDF if you edit on mobile.
- The Submission Name will not change on the website if you edit a field that places it's value in the Submission Name.
Did we answer your question?
We'd really appreciate your feedback! Please leave your suggestions for improvement in the comments or let us know what you're looking for so we can assist you better. We want to help, but we need to understand your needs!
Comments
2 commentsPlease sign in to leave a comment.
If a form is submitted but needs to be reopened and transferred to another user, can this be done?
Hi Keith Moffatt,
Thanks for your question! Once a submission is complete, there isn't a way to re-open the exact submission. A submission could be kept active using Assignments but then the submission data is not logged in the backend. Another option is form-to-form dispatch or even mid-workflow integrations where the data is sent in-between workflow steps while the submission is still active. The new Follow-ups feature allows for remedial work to be noted and automatically send a task to someone to complete in reference to an issue found in the original submission, but that will not contain all the original submission data and is a pretty simple, static subform for the first iteration of the feature.
The best solution given these limitations might be to take the existing data from the original submission and dispatch that to the new user. Perhaps once the original submission is no longer relevant, admins could use Submission Status to indicate that the original submission has edits or a separate up-to-date submission.