Save As

Comments

3 comments

  • Avatar
    Darin Bricker

    That functionality exists in a couple of different ways, currently.

    You can perform a "Save As" function by creating a copy of the app. The downside to this, is that it is an entirely new app and you would have to retire the old app and have your users start using the new app once you had the changes complete.

    The method they have built in for doing what you're trying to do is "Publish for Testing", which keeps versioning congruent and doesn't risk the accidental creation of duplicate apps with similar names. Instead of hitting "Save and Publish" when you're done editing your app, you can just "Save" which does not publish the edited version.

    When you go to the app's dashboard,

    you can select "Publish for Testing" which will publish the new version of the app to only the Admins and Designers on your team in order to test the new functionality before publishing the app in full to the rest of your users.

    At this point, your regular users have access only to the original app, while the admins and designers can test the new app which will have a notation similar to "(version 2 - Testing)" after the original app name. Once you're finished making final tweaks, you can go back to the dashboard and publish your new version, which will send it out to all of your users.

     

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Thank you, Darin! That's a great explanation of testing (which I am constantly forgetting how to do). I do like the idea of a save as function that would be build into the App Builder so you wouldn't have to go to the App Detail page, but in the meantime that's a wonderful solution. 

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Darin Bricker

    I agree, Sara, that adding the "Publish for Testing" function to the App Builder page would be the easiest/best solution. I imagine it will briefly create some confusion regarding the differences between "Save", "Publish for Testing" and "Publish". There would be additional issues with people that thought they only hit "Publish for Testing" when they actually hit "Publish". It would cumulatively stave so much time, across all users, it would be worth it. Maybe a drop down from the "Save" button would be the best place for this, as opposed to another button in the row.

    1
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.