How to Test a Form Before Publishing to All Users

Have more questions? Submit a request

You have the ability to place a form in Testing Status if you're not ready to deploy it to your mobile users. This is particularly useful for Admins and Designers when testing updates to existing forms before letting all of your users see the changes.

Enabling Testing

To get started you will first need to enable Testing Apps. Enable testing by following the steps below:

  1. Navigate to Account>Account Settings.
  2. Under App Settings, you'll see a Testing Apps area with a toggle. 

    testing.png

  3. Click the toggle to turn Testing mode on. 

Setting a Form to Testing

The testing feature can be enabled only on forms that are currently in a Pending status. You can't test forms with the status New until you have published them. To set a form to Pending status, make a change in the Form Builder and save, but do not click the "Publish to Device" button. Exit the Form Builder and return to the Forms screen. 

To publish a Pending form for testing, follow the steps below:

  1. Navigate to the Forms page
  2. Click the name of the form you wish to test.
  3. From the Form Settings page, scroll down to the Actions section, select Publish for Testing:

PublishforTesting.png

Once those steps are complete, you will notice that the status has changed from Pending to Testing. The word (Testing) will be added to the beginning of the form's name. You can find more information about form status here.

Screen_Shot_2019-07-11_at_10.07.13_AM.png

This Testing version will be published to all Admins and Designers on your account. On the device they will see the testing version as well as any currently published version that may have been assigned to them.

When you have completed submissions on the form you are testing you will see Testing next to these Submissions as well.

Note: All testing Submissions will be deleted from your account when you publish the form.

Once you have completed testing of the form and are ready to publish to your users you will be notified that all testing submissions will be deleted from your account. If you accept this, the current testing version will be published and the (Testing) header will no longer appear on the device.

Articles in this section

Was this article helpful?
16 out of 26 found this helpful
Share

Comments

8 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.

  • Hi I was wondering if I can test forms through the computer and not the app. 

    0
  • Hi Thomas,

    When you're logged in as an Admin, you should have an Account link in your navigation. Under there you'll see account settings, and if you scroll down, there's a toggle for turning testing on and off for your account. It all looks like this: 

    0
  • Where do i find Account>Account Settings?

    0
  • It would be helpful for the Dispatch API to have the option to reference a version for the form to dispatch.  To change up a form with prepopulated fields, there really is no testing once form is in production.

     

    0
  • Hi Jerre,

    Could you put in a feature request for this over in the Community: https://help.gocanvas.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/360000000247-Feature-Requests-Releases. Thanks!

    0
  • Do forms submitted while in 'testing' create a submission number? Do they send emails with pdf links like the published version? Do they trigger Zaps in Zapier? 

    (Edited )
    0
  • Howdy Es,

    Good question! The Testing version will be published to all Admins and Designers on an account. On the device, they will see the testing version as well as any currently published version that may have been assigned to them. As I make changes to the App and publish for Testing, the version of the Testing App will update on my account.

    For example, I have an App called '5S Audit Form' that I have published for testing. I have made two sets of changes to the Testing App, so it is at Version 3. Here is what I see as an Admin when I sign into my account:

    When I officially publish the Testing version of the App, only a single '5S Audit Form' App will remain. Since I made no further changes to the Testing App from Version 3, that is the version number on my account:

    0
  • if i published the account in testing, does it still update the version? i noticed that i had version 6 on my device but the status of the testing version is now at 8

    0